Camp NaNoWriMo (and Other Miscellany)

Hello, I’m alive! Semester’s just ended and exams are staring at me. I SURVIVED MY FIRST SEMESTER OF UNIVERSITY. Excuse the all-caps, I’ve been spending too much time on Tumblr of late.

Anyway, in other news I’m going to attempt Camp NaNoWriMo. There are two of these each year, one in June and the other in August. I’m going to give the June one a shot. I’ll consider my August prospects closer to the date. Camp NaNoWriMo is basically NaNoWriMo without as much of the fancy website stuff. The novel I’m hoping to write is a werewolf novel, a bit cliché, but that’s not going to stop me. What’s more likely to stop me is lack of preparation this time around, since I wasn’t even sure I was going to participate until about an hour ago. Oops. In any case, I’ll try to be a bit more active on here while this is going on.

I also just submitted last year’s NaNovel to the Hot Key Books Young Writers Prize over in England. I’m probably not going to place because the novel isn’t exactly ready, but I don’t lose anything by entering. I’ll have plenty of time to clean up the novel if I do end up graduating to the next phase of the contest, so my hopes aren’t at rock bottom.

Enough of my hyperactive ramble (I’ve been drinking more caffeinated beverages than I used to). How are you guys?

10 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo (and Other Miscellany)

  1. Good luck with the writing prize, and congrats on finishing your first semester! Also, no idea is cliche if you know how to write it well. I’m still waiting for a vampire story that will break the ongoing Twilight theme.

    • Lol I don’t even know what a Twilight theme is, unless it’s just a reference to an over-romanticisation of the creatures, since I’m not aware of anybody who has actually copied the exact type of vampire portrayed in the books. Good luck your writing. I’m sure my werewolves will be perfectly awesome, thanks :D

  2. Good luck with Hot Key Books Young Writers Prize.
    This will be my first camp NaNO. I’ve participated in classic NaNoWriMo twice now and even managed to win once. Don’t worry about prep so much, just enjoy the process. Can’t wait for Friday to roll around

    • Thanks :). I’m not too worried about the preparation. I just had a much easier time last NaNo than I usually do when writing because I’d actually made a detailed outline in advance.

  3. Good to hear from you! Glad you survived your first year!

    Heading off to camp tomorrow as well haha! Need something to help me over my writers block and Camp NaNo should do it.

    Good luck!

  4. Good luck. I’m entering the last year of my PhD program this fall, so I’ll simply say: I know that feel.

Leave a Reply

