Road Trip Wednesday #110

YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday topic this week is: Where do you buy most of your books? No one is judging!

I was beginning to just answer this in the comments, but soon realized the answer is longer than I had anticipated.

I buy most of my books at the local bookstore, which isn’t actually that local since it’s a fifteen-minute drive away. This store has been around possibly longer than I have been alive. It has survived the economic difficulties that have hit the chain bookstores and is now, I believe, the only bookstore in the area. The big chain stores have been closing like a Mexican wave over here so I’ve bought my fair share of liquidated stock but I always come back to that little bookstore I’ve been going to since I was a kid.

My family sometimes orders books on Amazon or I buy them on a whim in department stores, especially when I see a book I’ve wanted for a while but have been unable to find. Regardless of my wandering eyes, I prefer to look in the little not-very-local bookstore before I go anywhere else. The staff are always friendly and helpful and will order books in for us if we can’t find them.

And the best bonus? They have a cafe in the back!

Suffice it to say I’m a huge supporter of local bookstores. Bookstores in general are getting damn hard to find these days and I’m pretty sure this particular shop is the closest one to us. That’s kind of depressing.

4 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday #110

  1. It’s great that you can support a local bookstore like that–especially one you’ve grown up with. If brick-and-mortar bookstores (large and small) can capitalize on the atmosphere and sense of community they create, something you can’t get shopping online, I believe they will be around for a very long time.

  2. I agree with Colin. Sometimes the little bookstores bring on such an atmosphere that they have something online stores do not have. I do though these days do most of my shopping online…

Leave a Reply

