I’m My Own Worst Critic

My writing has been moving at a snail’s pace lately. I tend to be overcritical of my writing while I’m still actually writing it, so most of it looks terrible to me. Because of this I tend to take too long trying to come up with a sentence I like, agonising over word choices. In the end I generally just think ‘screw it’ and write whatever, which really is the mindset I need to have in the first place in order to actually get anything on the page. So of course I’m planning to do something that’ll force me to think like this.

I’m considering doing NaNoWriMo this year, since my classes finish near the end of October, but I’ll have exams to prepare for and sit during November so I’m not sure I’ll be able to devote the amount of time I need to actually get the 50,000 words written. I think I’ll try it anyway. I’ve got an idea of what book to write, since I’m not happy with the scribbles I’ve already done. I’ll start from scratch and see where it takes me.

2 thoughts on “I’m My Own Worst Critic

  1. i might suggest writing early in the morning. I have found that getting up by alarm, making coffee half awake and going directly to my designated writing area. My brain is less critical and the words flow easier. My rule of not editing while creating is easier to follow.
    Later in the day, the news, emails and other intrusions tend to stop the creativity and the worry that what i am writing is not good enough rises to create a block.
    I don’t know if this is any help but thought I would offer it as a suggestion.

    • It’s an idea I might try during the school holidays, but not while I’m still at school as I have difficulty sleeping at the best of times. Once I get into the swing of writing regularly, I’m generally better at turning off my inner critic, but that might have to wait until my exams are over.

Leave a Reply

