Patience and NOW Moments

One thing that I’ve noticed lately is that writing has taught me how to be more patient. Like many younger writers aiming for publication, I have moments when I want to be published NOW, want to see my stuff in stores NOW, want the sweet sweet royalties EVEN EARLIER THAN NOW. However, barring self-publication, this isn’t exactly possible. So I’ve had to learn. Like my main character’s love interest in Coldfire, I’m not exactly known as being an inherently patient person.

So here’s how I keep my brain in good nick during these ‘NOW moments’ (I suppose that’s as good a name as any):

- Remember that in order to be published, I must have finished a book.

- Remember that in order to be published, I must have finished a very very very good book.

- And a very very very good query.

- It’s likely that I’ll have to wait for weeks for responses from agents, most of which are likely to be rejections.

- I’ll have to do my homework so I’m submitting to the right agents to increase my chances of a non-rejection.

- Have a hobby so I’m not focused on publishing twenty-four hours a day.

- Focus on making my work great so that even if I don’t get published, I’ll still have something I’m proud of.

- I’m young and have plenty of time to get published if I’m not ready now.

Okay, so that’s a pretty pathetic list. I just had a NOW moment and felt like reminding myself why I don’t have to be published RIGHT THIS SECOND. Because I’m odd like that. Hopefully this can help any of you guys having your own NOW moments.

Leave a Reply

