I Officially Have ‘Too Many Ideas’ Syndrome

Book of Fire by Shigimicu on DeviantArt

I’m in my last week of term and have been hit with a tidal wave of homework so, as you can imagine, all these ideas are a nightmare. I have about half a dozen unfinished novels that stemmed from crazy ideas I’ve had while writing my first one. I keep getting distracted by them and eventually manage to go back on course. As far as I’m concerned, all these ideas are good. Some are probably better than others but that doesn’t mean I have the time or creative energy to give them the attention they need.

How I cope is, generally, if it’s something small like a song, I’ll work on it. If it’s something bigger like a novel I’ll write out my ideas, possibly write the first few chapters, and then return to my main project. If I didn’t do it this way, I would go insane from all the little voices in my head nagging me. I’m sure some people who read this will just roll their eyes, thinking, “Oh, poor you. You have too much creativity. Such a shame. /sarcasm.” But seriously, it can be rather unpleasant to have all these ideas bouncing around in your head, pulling your attention away until you can focus back on what you’re meant to be doing. Man, it’s annoying.

But I think I’d freak out if it suddenly stopped. I’d worry that I’ll never come up with another idea for a novel or a song or a short story or whatever. I’m not sure what’d be worse: not enough creativity or enough to drown in. I guess the Too Many Ideas Syndrome can be more easily rectified than the other, though, so maybe I’m better off this way :)

2 thoughts on “I Officially Have ‘Too Many Ideas’ Syndrome

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean. I’m still processing ideas for my first novel – I have around 20 separate ideas. I can’t decide which to start on, every time I think it is the best idea, I get another one. Garr :P Though it is definitely better than staring at a blank screen for weeks without anything.

    • Isn’t it funny how that happens? With my novel I started with the characters and went from there. I struggled with getting ideas for the first one because everything I thought of wouldn’t work as a first book in a series. Good luck with nutting out your novel :)

Leave a Reply

