So about that NaNoWriMo novel…

Sorry for not being around. University is evil, etc.

I just finished my first edit of Deathwitch. It’s not as bad as I expected for having written it in less than a month. In fact, I’d wager it’s in better shape than Coldfire, which I’ve been working on for over four years (two of which were spent on the first draft). I guess it’s a sign I really have grown as a writer since opening that first Word document at fifteen years old and plunging into the madness. It also might mean I should spend more time planning novels before writing like I did with Deathwitch, while Coldfire was a mixed breed of pantsing and plotting a few chapters in advance.

I’m hoping to beat Deathwitch into shape and send it in to the Hot Key Books Young Writers Prize. I’m not sure how well it will do because the publisher is British and Deathwitch better suits an American audience (cheerleaders, anyone?), but it can’t hurt to give it a shot. I’d originally wanted to try with Coldfire but since I’m only a few chapters into the complete rewrite, that’s not really feasible. If I don’t win (and I probably won’t), maybe I can send Coldfire in next year if the prize is running and I don’t have a publishing contract. I doubt I’ll have a publishing contract since I first have to finish the book, get it accepted by an agent (which can take months or years) and then accepted by a publishing house. I have a feeling I’ll have plenty of time to wait it out for next year if I don’t win this time round.

Besides, what’s the worst that could happen? I get knocked out in the first round. That won’t kill me :)

6 thoughts on “So about that NaNoWriMo novel…

  1. Ooh, we’re excited to read it. Good luck! And don’t worry too much about the American audience. I’m American, plus there are so many American TV shows over here that most things translate with no problems.

    I think it’s completely true that you learn and grow immensely after your first novel, so well done for getting on with something new.

    (I’m a huge NaNo fan. I haven’t done it in years but did “win” in 2007.)

    • Thanks :) Funny thing is I’m still working on that first novel, but starting from scratch because I kind of messed it up. I’m just not quite as tied to it as I used to be :)

  2. I generally follow one rule when it comes to submitting your work: no matter what, even if your chances are one in a million, that’s infinitely better than if you didn’t submit it.

Leave a Reply

