2012 Resolutions

2011 is over, bringing with it the tradition of New Year’s Resolutions. A lot of people complain the resolutions are pointless because they are abandoned early in the year, so I keep in mind Maggie Stiefvater’s advice about making concrete goals that are achievable.

So my resolutions for 2012 are:

  • Finish Coldfire and submit to agents
  • Finish the first draft of the sequel
  • Revise and edit my NaNovel, not necessarily to completion, but at least to a point where reading is possible without causing spontaneous combustion of the eyeballs
  • Do NaNoWriMo again
  • Do Camp NaNoWriMo (this one’s a bit iffy and will depend on my university schedule)
  • Get my provisional driver’s licence, or at least rack up enough hours to take the test
  • Pass my first year of university

Most of these are achievable once I stop being lazy (and get over my hatred for driving). I’ve gotten by for so many years coasting on some kind of inborn talent when it comes to academia and music. A few years ago, I never practised music or studied for tests. Now I have to, which has improved my overall work ethic and turned me into less of a brat. And that’s a good thing for all involved.

4 thoughts on “2012 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

