The Portable Writer

 I’ve set up my writing so I can do it wherever and whenever I can. I handwrite my first drafts and new sections for edits and bought myself a new red pen that didn’t have a broken lid so I could take it with me. I use a clipboard to hold my printed pages as I attack them with said pen and I’m rarely seen without a notebook and by favourite blue pen on my person.

 Being a high school student, most of my life is spent either at school or sleeping so the majority of my writing is done in my free time at school. That’s probably why it took me two years to write my first draft of “Coldfire”, coupled with the fact that I had no idea what I was doing at the time.

It really pays to be a portable writer. You never know when you’ll be stuck in line or in a waiting lounge at an airport. I recommend always keeping a pen and paper handy, as laptops can be cumbersome to carry around unless you know you’re going to have a chance to sit and write for a long time. For times when you’re moving between computers, get a flash drive or external hard drive. Just remember to back your things up so you don’t suffer the disaster I had a while ago. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had never found my flash drives ever again.

If your writing is on a million separate sheets of paper, consider putting them into a display folder so they don’t fly away into the abyss never to be seen again.

Even if you’re just going out for a minute, take a pen and at least one piece of paper. Otherwise you might end up in the situation that I did yesterday when all I had was a bookmark and a blunt pencil to record my earth-shattering epiphany brought on by listening to Muse’s “The Resistance” album.

4 thoughts on “The Portable Writer

  1. I consider this an absolute must. Especially when I take the bus. I might not feel like writing, but sometimes an idea comes to me, or there’s some terribly interesting person sitting nearby, and I’m always grateful for the pen and notebook in my bag. [Actually, I'm prone to overkill, so it's a notebook, one or two notepads, at least one pen and pencil, usually more.] I also have a tape recorder, but I don’t use it often–I think I don’t want someone else to overhear what might be a really silly idea out of context.

    [Pardon me butting in, by the way. I saw your comment on Maggie Stiefvater's post and something sparked my intrigue. Hope you don't mind me dropping by.]

    ~Sabrina

Leave a Reply

